A large order of ‘Truth’ to go, please.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _V I S U A L S  _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _W O R D A G E _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Night chat 

We were outside smoking

Winter hours made four pm feel like midnight

The countryside sky free of air and light pollution

Had so many stars our city eyes were

Nearly blinded

I exhaled wearily and said

I was heartbroken 

He, my friend, cast me a withering look

Said “stop wasting your time with men

You’re far too clever”

He’s a sometimes feminist

part time misogynist

I suppose he thinks

It accentuates his swagger 

My newfound interest in men has

Placed me lower in status

He maintains that I should know

Better and women are far more complex

Allegedly. All I know is

men drive me distracted

(the men I’m drawn to make me crazy)

most women I’m drawn to are crazy

(so which side of clinical insanity would I like to be

I mean, where does that leave me? ) 

I shook my head, locked eyes with him and said

Listen, seriously man, I’m heart broken

And the stars laughed

And the night grew darker still

He stubbed out his cigarette

And walked back in

With not so much as a word in my direction

I think he preferred it

When I was lesbian  

© PaulaVarjack

More tasty Paula Varjack treats here

(Happy January).

Leave a Reply

